BT Pension Scheme appoints three trustees

Jonathan Stapleton
Emily Clark, chief economist of BT Group, has been appointed trustee of the BT Pension Scheme

Emily Clark, chief economist of BT Group, has been appointed trustee of the BT Pension Scheme

The BT Pension Scheme (BTPS) has announced the appointment of three new trustees to its board.

Emily Clark, Nigel Cotgrove and David Viles will join the BTPS trustee board from 1 April 2020, replacing Billy McClory, Jim McInally and John Wroe who are retiring at the end of March.

Clark has been the chief economist of BT Group since 2016. Prior to joining BT, she was a director at a City law firm providing economic advice and analysis on a range of competition matters, particularly to clients in the technology, media, telecom and financial sectors.

Cotgrove is a national officer of the Communication Workers Union and was its lead officer on all BT pension issues between 1999 and 2019.

Viles joined BT in 2018 as director of risk, compliance and assurance. Prior to joining BT, he was a senior adviser in the risk management practice at Deloitte.

Commenting on the appointments, BT Pension Scheme chairman Otto Thoresen said: "I'd like to warmly welcome Emily, Nigel and David to the trustee board. Their depth of knowledge and broad expertise will be invaluable as we continue to improve the service we provide to members whilst navigating the complex challenges facing the scheme.

"My thanks to Billy, Jim and John for their many years of dedicated service and expert counsel."

BTPS is the UK's largest private sector pension scheme with over £50bn of assets and around 300,000 members. Each year, the scheme pays out some £2.5bn in pension payments to the 200,000 members of the scheme who are retired and their beneficiaries.

From 1 April, the BTPS trustee board will include the following members:

  • Otto Thoresen (Chairman)
  • Emily Clark (Employer-nominated trustee)
  • Nigel Cotgrove (Member-nominated trustee)
  • David Felder (Professional trustee)
  • Andy Kerr (Member-nominated trustee)
  • Ben Marshall (Member-nominated trustee)
  • Keith Nichols (Employer-nominated trustee)
  • Beryl Shepherd (Member-nominated trustee)
  • David Viles (Employer-nominated trustee)

More on Defined Benefit

Industry Voice: Communicating openly

Industry Voice: Communicating openly

Sponsors and trustees of open Defined Benefit (DB) schemes face distinct challenges to communicate effectively with their members. Barnett Waddingham's Simon Taylor and Damian Stancombe discuss how best to engage and inform them.

Simon Taylor and Damian Stancombe @ Barnett Waddingham
clock 30 June 2022 • 4 min read
Tender Watch: FRC appoints Premier Benefit Solutions

Tender Watch: FRC appoints Premier Benefit Solutions

Premier Benefit Solutions will provide consulting and advisory services to the FRC

Professional Pensions
clock 29 June 2022 • 1 min read
Simon Taylor: The impact on pension scheme funding levels has been astonishing

Time to buyout for FTSE 350 DB schemes hits record low

Average time to buyout for FTSE 350 DB schemes fell by one year and four months in May

Jonathan Stapleton
clock 29 June 2022 • 2 min read