Rising Star Awards 2021: Shortlists published

Here they are. The finalist lists for the third annual Professional Pensions Rising Star Awards...

Professional Pensions
clock • 2 min read

The Rising Star Awards aim to celebrate the emerging talent in pensions – recognising and identifying the sector's future leaders as well as shining the spotlight on the organisations and individuals that are helping develop and foster new talent in the industry.

Professional Pensions has had an exceptional response to these awards - and now the entries have been assessed by our panel of eminent judges.

The winners will be announced on 24 November at, we hope, an in-person gala dinner alongside the Women in Pensions Awards.

To find out more about the awards process, visit the Professional Pensions Rising Star Awards website: https://event.professionalpensions.com/risingstarawards2021/

And, to book a table, please visit https://event.professionalpensions.com/risingstarawards2021/en/page/table-booking

The finalist lists are as follows:


Rising Star of the Year

  • Aaron Hay
  • Abdul-Haseeb Mahmood
  • Alastair Greenlees
  • Arif Saad
  • Gary Soar
  • Georgia Stewart
  • Jack Carmichael
  • Jamie MacKenzie
  • Jess Horner
  • Katherine Sidders
  • Laasya Shekaran
  • Matt Dodds
  • Owen Davies
  • Ryan Cox
  • Tom Yorath
  • William Lalande


Trainee of the Year

  • Craig Rodgers
  • Esme Mason
  • Jagruti Chavda
  • Kareen McDonagh
  • Malwina Strugala
  • Matthew Skillander
  • Phoebe Powell
  • Rebecca Barton
  • Shivum Gupta
  • Silvialaura Guido
  • Stephen Kyte


Trustee of the Year

  • Aimée Denham
  • Duncan Willsher
  • Nikesh Patel
  • Rebecca Wood


Actuary/Consultant of the Year

  • Dan Wooder
  • David Simpson
  • Francesca Bailey
  • Iain Church
  • Jack Sharman
  • John Harney
  • Keillian Tai
  • Kelly Hurren
  • Sonia Kataora
  • Tom Yorath


Actuarial/Advisory Trainee of the Year

  • Amy Sutherland
  • Amy Walker
  • Andrew Hetherington
  • Craig Rodgers
  • Emily Wong
  • Lucy Bignell
  • Lydia Dutton
  • Matthew Toal
  • Werner Marx


Administrator of the Year

  • David Adeoye
  • James Elford
  • Liam Hanahoe
  • Matthew Smith
  • Niamh Powell
  • Paulo Neto
  • Phoebe Powell
  • Yasmin Doyle


Investment Manager of the Year

  • Daniel Riddaway
  • George Crowdy
  • Lea Dubourg Hrachovec
  • Nikesh Patel
  • Owen Davies
  • Sumit Dubey


Investment Trainee of the Year

  • Chris Guy Ward
  • Jennifer Davidson
  • Malwina Strugala
  • Panashe Bera
  • Rebecca Barton
  • Richard Bradley


Legal Professional of the Year

  • Chris Harper
  • Elliot Pulver
  • Emma Rubenstein
  • Tamara Brittan
  • Yavor Georgiev


Excellence in Customer Service and Communication Award

  • Andrea Joseph
  • Hannah Swallow
  • Jacqueline Serna
  • Kerry Jones
  • Lauren Aitchison-Turner
  • Thiru Muralikrishnan


Mentor of the Year

  • Chris Binns
  • Clare Galbraith
  • Daniel Gerring
  • Debbie Matravers
  • Elaine Torry
  • Emily Houghton
  • Graham Wright
  • Jay Harvey
  • John Hardern
  • Rosie Marsh
  • Shuntao Li
  • Simon Rusling
  • William Platt


Team of the Year

  • 2020 Trustees
  • Barnett Waddingham's Illuminate Development Team
  • Pension Protection Fund's Contact Centre Team
  • Punter Southall
  • Smart Pension


Award for Supporting Development

  • 2020 Trustees
  • CMS 
  • NextGen
  • RSM
  • SAGA Group


Training Scheme of the Year

  • CMS
  • RSM

More on Industry

PLSA and ABI's pension attention campaign launches for second year

PLSA and ABI's pension attention campaign launches for second year

TV presenter and broadcaster Timmy Mallett is this year’s campaign ambassador

Holly Roach
clock 20 September 2023 • 2 min read
Food inflation remains well above the headline rate but has also fallen, down to 13.6% from las month’s 14.9% figure.

Rate rise remains likely despite surprise inflation fall to 6.7%

Increase had been expected despite headline CPI falling 0.1 percentage points in

James Baxter-Derrington
clock 20 September 2023 • 1 min read
Nearly half of savers over 50 lack awareness about annuities

Nearly half of savers over 50 lack awareness about annuities

Research finds one in five believe retirees with annuities at risk of running out of money

Martin Richmond
clock 19 September 2023 • 2 min read