Women in Pensions 2022 — The winners!

A new raft of talented women celebrated for their incomparable achievements

Hope William-Smith
clock • 2 min read
Women in Pensions 2022 — The winners!

Here they are…the winners of the Professional Pensions Women in Pensions Awards 2022.

The Women in Pensions Awards aim to shine a spotlight on the work of inspirational women in the pensions sector, along with the mentors and organisations supporting them.

Our winners were announced last night (15 November) at a gala dinner at the Marriott Grosvenor Square in London.

There was an exceptional response to these awards this year with a record numbers of submissions to the Professional Pensions judging panel - almost 1,000 in total!

In choosing this year's winners, judges took into account: achievements in the workplace/role; challenges faced; evidence of contributions to support and inspire women; and the overall quality of the submission.

The full list of winners for 2022 is as follows:

Lifetime Achievement Award

Winner: Joanne Segars (LGPS Central)

Pensions Woman of the Year

Winner: Naomi L'Estrange (2020 Trustees)

Trustee of the Year

Winner: Nita Tinn (Independent Trustee Services)

Highly commended: Amaya Mazaira (Santander)

Mentor of the Year

Winner: Mary McLeod (XPS Pensions Group)

Pandemic Perseverance Award

Winner: Mandie Elflett (PZ Cussons)

Investment Manager of the Year

Winner: Caroline Escott (Railpen)

Sales/Marketing/Communications Professional of the Year

Winner: Tannaz Rastegar (Wealth At Work)

Newcomer of the Year

Winner: Leah Worrall (Isio)

Adviser of the Year

Winner: Claire Whittaker (Isio)

Highly commended: Jill Brown (XPS Pensions Group)

LGBTQI+ Trailblazer Award

Winner: Claire Skinner (Mercer)

Highly commended: Brenda Kite (Hymans Robertson)

Innovator of the Year

Winner: Johanna Nelson-Vanner (Punter Southall)

Highly commended: Zoe Adlam (XPS Pensions Group)

Lawyer of the Year

Winner: Rowan Howard (Slaughter and May)

Highly commended: Emma Frost (CMS)

Young Achiever of the Year

Winner: Laasya Shekaran (Lane Clark & Peacock)

Pensions Manager of the Year

Winner: Danielle Barker (Capita)

Team Leader of the Year

Winner: Julie Pelham (East Sussex Pension Fund)

Administrator of the Year

Winner: Colette Hollands (Surrey County Council)

Highly commended: Karen Williams (Clwyd Pension Fund)

Organisational Award for Supporting Diversity

Winner: GBS (Gallagher Benefit Services)

Highly commended: Lane Clark & Peacock

More on Industry

The UK Pensions Awards celebrate excellence within the pensions industry

UK Pensions Awards 2023: Live Q+A with judges

The 26th annual UK Pensions Awards will be held in London on 1 June 2023

Professional Pensions
clock 25 November 2022 • 4 min read
 Hymans Robertson head of scheme actuary services Kerry Lindsay

The implications of falling transfer values

Kerry Lindsay looks at how schemes can mitigate the impacts of market movements

Kerry Lindsay
clock 25 November 2022 • 3 min read
Five stories you may have missed this week

Five stories you may have missed this week

WPC inquiry into DB pensions with LDI and most professional trustees plan to step down

Professional Pensions
clock 25 November 2022 • 1 min read