Women in Pensions 2021 — The winners

Awards celebrate the contributions and achievements of women across the industry

Professional Pensions
clock • 2 min read

Here they are… the winners of the Professional Pensions Women in Pensions Awards 2021.



The Women in Pensions Awards aim to shine a spotlight on the work of inspirational women in the pensions sector, along with the mentors and organisations supporting them.

Professional Pensions has had an exceptional response to these awards in 2021, and all entries were highly praised by our panel of eminent judges.

In choosing this year's winners, judges took into account: achievements in the workplace/role; challenges faced; evidence of contributions to support and inspire women; and the overall quality of the submission.

Our winners were announced last night (24 November) at a gala dinner at the Marriott Grosvenor Square in London.

The full list of winners for 2021 is as follows:


Lifetime Achievement Award

Winner: Rona Train, Hymans Robertson


Pensions Women of the Year

Winner: Rita Butler-Jones, Legal & General Investment Management


Lawyer of the Year

Winner: Juliet Bayne (Brodies)

Highly commended: Parminder Latimer, Gunnercooke


Investment Manager of the Year

Winner: Claire Curtin, Pension Protection Fund


Rising Star Award

Winner: Laasya Shekaran, Lane Clark & Peacock

Highly commended: Georgina Howes, Pension Protection Fund


Innovator of the Year

Winner: Samantha Seaton, Moneyhub


Team Leader of the Year

Winner: Nabila Zine Finali, Russell Investments


Trustee of the Year

Winner: Ventia Trayhurn, Law Debenture


Role Model of the Year

Winner: Laura Andrikopoulos, Hymans Robertson


Administrator of the Year

Winner: Ella Purkiss, Lane Clark & Peacock


Saleswoman/Marketer of the Year

Winner: Samantha Gould, Now Pensions


Most Inspiring Returner

Winners: Adele Ray, Legal & General and Kristan Ferris, Hymans Robertson


Pensions Manager of the Year

Winner: Suzanne Willshire, House of Fraser


Adviser of the Year

Winner: Shelly Beard, Willis Towers Watson

Highly commended: Karen McWilliam, Aon


Mentor of the Year

Winner: Hazel Kendrick, Willis Towers Watson

Highly commended: Suman Sidhu, Lane Clark & Peacock


Pandemic Perseverance Award

Winner: Jane Galvin, Barnett Waddingham


Organisational Award for Supporting Diversity

Winner: Lane Clark & Peacock



More on United Kingdom

Solar subsidy cuts to hit liability matching strategies

UK - Government plans to cut a subsidy boosting the appeal of solar panel infrastructure investments could scupper scheme plans to use these investments as part of their liability matching strategies, fund managers say.

clock 09 November 2011 •

Aegon moves to halt DB scheme future accrual

UK - Aegon is to close its defined benefit pension scheme to future accrual in March 2013 as part of its restructure and cost saving programme.

Jenna Towler
clock 08 November 2011 •

PPF reveals £678m surplus

UK - The Pension Protection Fund has published its annual report - revealing a surplus of £678m ($1.1bn) at 31 March.

Jonathan Stapleton
clock 07 November 2011 •